Skip to content

“You are at the age when your ovaries are singing!”

May 14, 2009

The accounts I work on have a women, and more specifically, a Mom target.  So lately – if you consider the past six months as ‘lately’ – I’ve been reading up on Moms and their purchase decisions, social network usage and overall online behavior.  A lot of this has stemmed from the Digital Mom study put on by CafeMom and Razorfish, which I have cited before.Since a current project I am working on is targeted specifically at soon-to-be and veteran Moms, I have been immersing myself in this target as if I were in the target.  It’s been surprisingly simple for me to read Mommy blogs and visit OBs.  I’m even reading It Sucked and Then I Cried: How I Had a Baby, a Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita by the infamous Heather Armstrong of Dooce.com.  And I’m enjoying it so much  that I can’t even put it down.  Granted, Armstrong is a ridiculously talented writer, so it’s easy to get wrapped up in her eccentric stories full of witty banter.  You’d think that when she mentions sore nipples and how impossible motherhood can be at times, I would throw the book out the window for fear of changing my lifelong dream of having four kids.  BUT I DON’T.  (The book is sitting right next to my computer at this very moment.)

I visited an OB a week ago to get some insights on a woman’s hospital experience when giving birth – What do the rooms look like?  How do the nurses interact with Mom, baby and Dad?  More importantly, are their scrubs cute?  Even after seeing puffy-eyed, exhausted Moms and delirious Dads, as well as little babies that are just bigger than the palm of your hand, I STILL wanted to learn more about Moms (and babies).  I wanted to stay in that OB all day, but alas, I had to get home to make dinner (grilled cheese sandwiches, anyone?).

My client, not surprised at my overwhelming obsession with Moms (and babies), said “You are at the age when your ovaries are singing!”

What?!?  Is she right?   Is my body like, Hey, any time now! The clock is ticking! Get to it! My mind is telling me, Three more years, at least!

(Err … no segue for this one)

In a recent MediaPost email was an article from Tina Sharkey of BabyCenter LLC and BabyCenter.com called “Mindset Matters”.  She talks about how Moms are actually interested in interacting with marketers; however, in order to do so, marketers need to provide new ideas, products and services that make Mom’s life easier.  Because if you can get Mom’s approval by making her life just a tad bit easier, you can get the approval of Mom’s friends and family.  That’s word-of-mouth at its best.   In fact, the article states,

“Moms average 109 word-of-mouth conversations per week about products, services and brands, most of which are positive and considered highly credible by other moms.”

However, make sure you do your research before you try to get Mom’s approval on a product – right now, “73% [of Moms] feel that advertisers don’t really understand what it’s like to be a Mom”.  Focus groups alone cannot give you enough insight on what it’s like to be a Mom. Go to a neighborhood swimming pool, the grocery store, Target, McDonald’s … the list is endless.  You can find Moms anywhere, so there’s no excuse to not understand them.

Summary: MOMS ARE ONLINE.  But, they aren’t interested in what you have to say when they are on Facebook commenting on a friend’s picture from the good ole high school days.  However, when they are on Babies R Us or reading a Mommy Blog, they mean business, which is your cue as a marketer to reach out.

In case you still don’t get it, here’s a good example of how NOT to think about Moms.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink*
    August 12, 2009 8:58 pm

    Terrific post. Great to see how deep you’re getting into the mindset and experience of the audience.

Leave a Reply

