Skip to content

Shoes. Shoes. Let’s get some shoes.

April 28, 2009

A former colleague of mine has been traveling through Europe.  He recently posted this picture on Facebook for me.

For those of you who don’t read my posts religiously, my name is Mary Pat.  Get it?  Mary Paz kinda sounds like Mary Pat, yes?

Anyway, that’s not the point.  The point is, not only did said former colleague find my name on a storefront in Europe, but that store just happened to be chock full of … SHOES.  That’s right: shoes. Shoes in so many glorious and vibrant colors.  Heels and flats galore.

Now, I wouldn’t consider myself to be a crazy-obsessed shoe fanatic, and I definitely don’t own as many shoes as I ought to, but I thought this store named Mary Pat Paz was quite representative of my general love and appreciation for fashion and style.  And shoes.

My affinity for fashion began at age 5, when I owned an adorable acid wash denim skirt that I refused to take off.  At age 6, I danced around in my saddle shoes, as every young girl in my grade did.  At age 8, I was sporting Crayola Bold-colored headbands.  And at age 10, I rocked a denim cutoff vest and swingy black and red skirt for Picture Day.

When I hit high school, I got rid of my stacked haircut (remember that look, ladies?) and started sporting a Keri Russell curly pixie.  Yes, I have pictures to prove it.  Junior year I purchased my first pair of ankle boots – in black and camel.  And I wore them until the heels came off.

Ahhh, college.  The footwear ranged from BCBGirls light pink Mary Jane heels and slouchy Urban Outfitters ankle boots to moccasins and Old Navy flip-flops.  The clothes?  Lots of sorority T-shirts (don’t judge) and New Balance tennis shoes.

And today?  Well, I still rock the heels, but flats are my new best friend.  I’ve also become a big fan of skirts and dresses.  In fact, I need more.

Fashion is important to me – I guess you could say it’s a hobby.  But since we’re on the subject of shoes, I’ll talk about them: shoes are crucial in my life.  And in our culture, a necessity.  (Unless you live on the beach.)  They make us happy, as long as we can keep them from pinching our pinky toes and giving us blisters.  They get us safely to where we need to go, protecting our feet so they can do their job. Sometimes they need to be comfy, and other times, you can sacrifice the comfort for a little pizazz.

What’s your favorite shoe?

One Comment leave one →
  1. kimtrokey permalink
    April 29, 2009 6:32 pm

    i am a BIG fan of the wedge. it gives me the height that i need without making me feel too dressed up. And after reading about your fashion from childhood. I think we would have been BFFs back then because I, too, rocked headbands and saddle shoes, and really bad denim. I was also a fan of things that had my name on it – Like those really bad shirts that you get airbrushed at the beach with dolphins and hearts. Eh. How I ever got anyone to talk to me… I’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

