Skip to content

Twitter – not just for self indulgence and celeb stalking

April 21, 2009

If you thought Twitter was just another micro blogging platform, think again. The merits and uses of this social media platform, just like its user base, are rapidly increasing with each passing day.  It was love at first tweet when I realized I could tell the world (or at least my 6 followers) about how much I like pickles. I fell deeper when I realized I could stalk my favorite celebrities in a whole new way. And now, thanks to Twitter, I don’t have to get up off the couch to turn off my lights. I can catch the mouse that’s been tormenting me for months and I can successfully grow a house plant. What more could a girl ask for?

Tweet on, Tweet off.

Using a software program, the Twitter platform and his cell phone, Justin Wickett, a student at Duke University, was able to successfully turn his house lights on and off via Tweets. His ultimate goal is to implement this technology in the Duke University  SmartHome. In his latest tweets, he also mentions exploring ways to control other home electrical devices via twitter.

Water me.

Researchers at New York University’s interactive telecommunications created Botanicalls, a program device that allows plants to communicate with their owners. The device is made of soil-moisture sensors that are connected to a circuit board. They measure the level of moisture, and then communicate the information to a microcontroller. There is a DIY kit to get this thing working in your own home. The language that the plant tweets in can be personalized to suit the owner or the type of plant. Co-creator Kelly Hartman’s house plant (nicknamed Porthos) has over 2,000 followers.

aaa

Caught on tweet.

If you are worried about what’s going on at your abode while you’re away, worry no longer. All you need is your computer, a webcam and a twitter account to get real time tweets from your home. Click here for the simple set up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

