Skip to content

I Eat Out of Cans

April 17, 2009

The other day between working on PowerPoint slides and attending an Ad Club panel discussion, I needed a silly break. You know, an act of reckless randomness to break up the day. I broke into a verse from DeAundra Peek’s “I Eat out of Cans” while puttering in my cube. We sing all the time in The Lair. Or at least Mary Pat and I sing all the time. Anyway, Alex popped up out of his cube with questions so I hipped him to the ouvre of DeAundra Peek, a famous drag queen from a trailer park outside Atlanta. (Shout out to Rob Thurman for sharing Miz DeAundra Peek with me a few weeks ago.) She had a crazy local show in the 90’s that has made its way to You Tube. Below is the video for the catchy little ditty we were all singing today. DeAundra made her way around the office and her song is a 4th floor hit. Very singable.

As you can probably tell, DeAundra loves Vienna sausages and preaches that folks shouldn’t be ashamed of eating out of cans.  vienna-sausagevienna-sausage-in-canThese delicacies run about 50 cents a can and are made from pureed chicken, beef and pork, packed in chicken broth. They are high in salt and fat. But I think that goes for any sausage, so don’t hold it against the wee Vienna unless you want to take on all sausage.

I first encountered Vienna sausage at breakfast with my cousins at my aunt’s house in Pennsylvania when I was about 11. We had them pan fried in their own lusciousness and served with scrambled eggs, toast and Kool-Aid. It was that kind of breakfast.

Apparently people who search out cheap eats know how to hook up a Vienna sausage. The comments on this post over at Cheap Eats are priceless.  The reviewer didn’t enjoy them, but many of his readers had recipes and most suggested rinsing or heating the sausages before eating them. My favorite comment: “To me these are a reminder of my dad. Happiest I have ever seen him was one weekend not too long ago when my mother was out of town. He sat on the porch in his ripped up jeans, a faded flannel shirt, and guzzled down a few bottles of sourkraut juice and wolfed down four cans of the VS.”

I share this bit of culture with you because “I Eat Out of Cans” is a true statement for me. And it’s a hysterical musical number by a renowned trailer park diva that everyone should know about.

Yaaaaaaaaahhhh.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink*
    April 17, 2009 7:51 pm

    MeeMaw’s Vienner Pot Pie in Minutes recipe from DeAundra:

    – 2 cans Hy-Grade Vienner Sausages
    – 8 slices plain white bread
    – 1 cup diced canned cooked potatoes
    – 1 cup diced canned cooked carrots
    – 2 tablespoons dried onion bits
    – 2 tablespoons corn starch
    – 4 small aluminum pot pie pans

    Cut crust off of all your bread slices an’ set aside crusts. Press 1 slice of bread into each pot pie pan an’ allow to set. Press remaining bread slices into flat round shapes an’ set aside. In a bowl, mix up the vienners, (keeping the juice to add later) potatoes, carrots an’ onion bits. Add cornstarch an’ mix thoroughly, adding vienner juice to desired thickness. Quickly add broken up bread crusts an’ pour mixture in equal amounts into pot pie pans, then press on bread rounds to create top. You can use a fork to make pretty edge patterns on the crust (optional). Heat on hi in hot toaster over for 5 minutes or until bubbly. Serve in pot pie pans on plates.

  2. alexmkerlick permalink*
    April 20, 2009 10:05 am

    And out of cans, I am a eating.

    YAYYYY.

  3. Beth permalink
    May 8, 2009 3:42 pm

    I love Vienna sausages. And yes I grew up calling them “Vi-enner” sausages.
    As a child, I remember staying up late night with my Grandfather. Eating Vienna sausages, potted meat, sardines, and pickles. While watching MASH and Married with Children.
    Oh the memories of Al Bundy with his hand down his pants!

Leave a Reply

