Skip to content

The new call-to-action: Call To Facebook

April 15, 2009

It’s been awhile since I laughed out loud at a commercial. It’s also been awhile since someone I work with actually sent me an email only to ask if I had seen an ad – not related to something we were working on – just because it was that freaking good. The ad? Vitamin Water10 starring Mother Nature.

 

Okay, so it made me giggle. Actually, it made me LOL. And then, when I the second version, I laughed again. (a badger on a personal call – that’s brilliant!)  But I also noticed something intriguing. The spot’s call to action is to a facebook page. www.facebook.com/vitaminwater10

 

It is such fresh thinking. If you are trying to build buzz, start a conversation and make your consumers actual fans of your product, why not utilize an already existing extremely popular social network to get the job done?

Don’t get me wrong, I think a micro-site can be a great addition to any campaign. Micro-sites have a place and purpose, for sure – and in the case of Vitamin water, they have created a very robust one @ www.vitaminwater10.com.  But instead of using the coveted call to action spot on their TV commercials to send interested consumers there, they are throwing out a face book page instead. I’ve never seen a company do that before – has anyone else? It does make perfect sense, though. Instead of sending consumers to an unfamiliar URL, expecting them to make the trip there just for your product, it’s asking them to go to a site that they likely visit every single day already.  And instead of asking them to contribute and engage in whatever functionality and interactivity that has been established at the micro-site, it’s asking them to become a fan, share with friends, comment, post and poke – behavior that they could now do in their sleep.  The page has nearly 10,000 fans.

 

As I looked further, it seems like VitaminWater10 is pulling out all the non-traditional and traditional stops. Other elements of the campaign include a YouTube Channel, a Twitter profile, an online influencer campaign, and a vitamin water store in SoHo.  The store held a launch party hosted by Carmen Electra. Earlier the day of the launch, there was a tasting event in New York City’s Union Square featuring a pop-up gym. Consumers were able to sample the beverages and then were given a chance to burn off the 10 calories on exercise bikes, yoga balls, playing rock-paper-scissors and tossing balls at a dunk tank.

 

Just another way non-traditional media is changing the face of traditional media.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 11:16 am

    I think these commercials are amazing. Not only are they funny but the series is running on tv often enough for me to connect it with their product and tagline.

  2. marypatanselm permalink
    April 17, 2009 12:00 pm

    LOVE this post. I have seen these spots, but only when we were fast-forwarding through Idol. I noticed the Facebook call-to-action and thought it was strange, mainly because I have never seen anything like that before.

    Good point, though, on using an platform where people are frequenting anyway. Makes it easier for the consumer to interact with the brand. And it gives them a reason to check it out. In my case, I would think, “Oh, I need to respond to those friend requests. I might as well check out Vitamin Water 10’s page while I’m at it.”

  3. Crystal permalink*
    April 20, 2009 9:09 pm

    Another benefit is the ability to e-mail fans and gather information on them. Terrific post.

Trackbacks

  1. It all comes back to hamsters « Tangelos

Leave a Reply

