Skip to content

The acronyms to know: FML. FLML.

April 13, 2009

An Internet acronym trend that is amazing and you should know about is the FML and FLML trend, which lives on two websites: fmylife.com and flml.org.  FML means “F*** My Life”, while FLML means “F***ing Love My Life”.

Obviously, FLML is the positive acronym and FML is the negative one. The FML trend is seemingly more popular than the FLML trend, as the FML site has more capabilities than the FLML site.

I don’t recall how I found out about FML, though it was probably through Tumblr.  FML’s site was started by two French guys.  You can submit your FML story in the appropriate format, and they will try to post it to the site.  Here’s an example of an FML post:

“Today, a women drove through my house. She was texting and eating watermelon at the same time. I didn’t know that was even possible to do. Now my house is condemned. FML”

FML is on Facebook and Twitter.  They aggregate content of their site into categories like “Top FML” and “Random FML”. They even have an FML store and advertising on their site.  You can comment on their postings and also “moderate” the posts, choosing “I agree, your life is f***ed” or “you deserved that one”.  They even have a Tumblelog, since all Tumblrs basically live on Tumblr and thus demand all content be available on Tumblr.

I discovered the FLML trend on Tumblr obviouslyTopherchris, a self-proclaimed Internet enthusiast and Tumblr celebrity, is the curator of the FLML Tumblelog.  Basically, you submit an FLML situation and Topherchris posts it on the Tumblelog.  Here is an example, straight from the source:

“I’ve never read or seen Twilight. FLML.”

FLML is quite simple in site design.  The only similarity between FLML and FML is that you can submit your FLML moment.  There’s no advertising, no aggregation, no searching, no categories, no ratings, no comments.  Which is really no problem because my main objective for seeking out these sites is solely the content (i.e. postings).

Though I am not sure which came first, the websites or the acronyms, I do know is these sites provide some pretty entertaining content.  Whether the submissions are true or not doesn’t really matter.  It’s all about the entertainment factor for me.

So take a few minutes and have a laugh.

Before you leave, and in honor of me finishing Twilight last week,  here’s one more:

“Today, my girlfriend dumped me proclaiming she wanted someone more like her “Edward”. I asked her who Edward was. She held up a copy her “Twilight” book. She wastalking about a fictional vampire. FML”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. alexmkerlick permalink*
    April 13, 2009 3:55 pm

    Do you wish Josh was more like Edward?

  2. Crystal permalink*
    April 20, 2009 9:25 pm

    Terrific post. Do you reckon Fail and FML are symptoms of a zeitgeist gone emo, staring out the window like Alex?

Leave a Reply

