Skip to content

Ghost Tweeting. A spooky concept.

March 27, 2009

It’s hard to believe that so many celebrities are on Twitter.  Sometimes, you have to wonder if it’s really them writing the posts.

Wonder no more because some of these celebs have come clean.  Stars like Kanye and 50 Cent aren’t always the ones behind their tweets.  They’re ghost tweeting, which is when you hire (or force) someone to tweet in your voice.  Britney Spears is trying to hire someone to do just that for her.  Other practitioners of ghost tweeting are politicians, like Ron Paul and Obama.  Shaq, not surprisingly, tweets his own stuff.

‘If I am going to speak, it will come from me,’ he said, adding that the technology allows him to bypass the media to speak directly to the fans.

As for the temptation to rely on a team to supply his words, he said: ‘It’s 140 characters. It’s so few characters. If you need a ghostwriter for that, I feel sorry for you.’

I always wondered if these celebs were really on their mobile devices or crouching over their laptops tweeting away – but I never really cared enough to investigate.

Why?

Because if I’m already suspecting them of not tweeting on their own, I’m already not digging their content.  I don’t go to Twitter to hear about their latest music video – I go there to stalk them hear what’s on their minds.

Here’s the pickle about this ghost tweeting thing:  Should we respect the fact that some of these stars have come clean about how their Twitter page operates?  (They are being transparent about their personal brand.)  Or should we scrutinize them for passing off the torch to their paid posse?

I’m on the fence about which is better, but what I do know is that the content I’m interested in on Twitter is coming from the celebs who are addicted to it, like Ashton Kutcher, Shaq, Demi Moore and John Mayer.

I do admit, though, I am following Eric Hutchinson (who I’m pretty sure has a ghost tweeter), but only because I keep replying to him, begging him to stop in St Louis during his tour.  He hasn’t responded (yet), but I’ll keep trying …

One Comment leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink*
    March 27, 2009 7:56 pm

    At least you’re a friendly stalker MP. Terrific post.

Leave a Reply

