Skip to content

A newfound respect for celebs. Thanks, Twitter.

March 6, 2009

Twitter offers suggestions on who to follow.  These folks are usually celebs or experts.  I check out this list every so often, and I end up following people who I am not necessarily a fan of in real life.

Right now, I’m following Shaq, Ashton Kutcher and Demi Moore.  My thoughts on them were neutral before I started following them.  Now, I love them. I am fascintated by them.  They are giving access into their daily activities and thoughts.

They even share Twitpics. And lots of them.

That part is why I now have respect for celebs.  Seeing them in their real life situations, not on glossy pictures in [redacted] magazines, makes me see them as real.  Like someone I could be friends with.

I suggest scoping out celebs to follow: you get a realistic glimpse into their lives, making that much richer than anything a tabloid could offer.  Because I am not the type to fall in love with a photo-shopped celeb – I know it’s unrealistic.  The celebs know it’s unrealistic.

So, is Twitter the new tabloid?  Should TMZ and Perez start packing?  Probably not, because there are a good amount of people who enjoy a glossy photo or two.  But for me, following celebs on Twitter is all I need.

In my mind, I feel connected to them.  And I have so much more respect for them as human beings and not manufactured Hollywood plastic.

I encourage you to follow your fave celebs, or even a couple that are average.

BTW, Shaq is effing hilarious.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 8:22 pm

    Great tip MP. I read that Shaq has a cool twitter feed. I’m gonna have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

