Skip to content

Unfriending Online? Ouch, Charlie.

February 18, 2009

I came across an interesting WSJ article on “Unfriending” on social networking sites: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123007984542431845.html As someone who recently did some facebook unfriending of my own (ex-girlfriend, d-bags from high school I’d rather never see again), I found this particularly fascinating. It’s also a great segue to the point I’ve been meaning to bring up about nouns becoming verbs.

Just a few weeks ago, we were having a discussion in The Lair about how nouns from the digital world, and a few from the real world (Chris Brown), are quickly becoming verbs. The most obvious one being “Google.” Is there any two word phrase more cliche and emblematic of the digital revolution than “Google it.” Case in point, MP just interrupted me, demanding that I look up an airport code for her. “Just Google it,” she barked.

Social networking sites have developed their own terminology: to friend, to un-friend, to de-friend, to facebook, to tweet (wait that’s a actually a verb). You get the idea. My point is that new technology comes with a plethora of new vocabulary that is making its way into the vernacular. Dentyne has a great spot running that uses digital lingo as puns for real-life human interaction.

We’re so cutting edge in The Lair that we’re considering going retro; real human contact. Think about that the next time you feel the urge to Gchat with the person two pods over.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink*
    February 18, 2009 10:24 pm

    What a terrific ad tapping into human truths about relationships online and offline. Nice and simple.

  2. marypatanselm permalink
    February 19, 2009 3:19 pm

    I barked it at you?! I think not. Plus, even if I did, I totally reserve the right to bark orders at you, INTERN!

Leave a Reply

