Skip to content

Men, Women, Sex and Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2009

I’m fascinated by the “give her this and she’ll want to have sex with you” DRTV strategy for Vermont Teddy Bear and Pajama Gram. What’s really funny about it to me, beyond the blatant value prop, is the potential backlash on the gift giver.

Women watch TV. Women have seen the spots. It’s not running on targeted programming with 90% male comps. Positioning your product as a cheap, easy last-minute gift for guys-on-the-make doesn’t actually help these would-be lovers out. Who wants a gift like that? Who wants to be seen receiving a gift like that?  Who gets hot and bothered by cynicism shipped overnight?

Years ago I witnessed much-less-cheesy office cuteness over a Valentine’s bear being delivered. But after these commercials, I wonder if bear grams and pajama grams were greeted with glee or embarrassment, sadness and wistfulness for traditional flowers and chocolate.   If you were involved in a bear gram or pajama gram romantic episode today, I hope I’m wrong and your Valentine’s day was full of sweetness.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. alexmkerlick permalink*
    February 17, 2009 10:44 am

    I like the “Love Bandit Bear.” My friendly bear counselor helped me pick it out.

  2. Heidi permalink
    February 17, 2009 10:59 am

    Actual conversation in my house following PajamaGram commercial:

    Him: I’m not getting that for you, baby.

    Me: Good.

  3. alexmkerlick permalink*
    February 17, 2009 1:01 pm

    http://technology.todaysbigthing.com/2009/02/16

  4. kimtrokey permalink
    February 17, 2009 5:13 pm

    This is too funny. I was actually able to witness the gifting of a pajama gram this Christmas. My future father in law to my future mother in law.

    Is it better at Christmas because it doesn’t imply sexy time? Or does it still? Ew and ick.

Leave a Reply

