Skip to content

Viral Marketing & Online Technology

February 3, 2009

AdAge called CareerBuilder.com’s Monk-e-Mail  “the  third greatest human achievement, after only democracy and velcro.” I would have to throw sushi and the Snuggie into the mix, but that’s another post. Anyways… Oddcast, the creators of “Monk-e-Mail”, and other successful viral campaigns like “Elf Yourself”, paid us a visit today. I’ve got to say, I was thoroughly engaged and fairly impressed. It is rather mind-blowing to know that over 60 million Monk-e-Mails have been played. 60 million? Are you serious? Think about that.

Two current viral campaigns that caught the eyes of the planners were the Cheetos “Orange Underground” and Volkswagen’s “Routan Babymaker 3000.” While I did enjoy using Chester Cheetah to prank call Kim, my college roommate, and a certain agency head, I think the “Routan Babymaker 3000” site was ultimately more engaging and more fun.

Here’s how the VW site works: You pick two parents, upload their photos, wait “9 months,” and voilà, your very own Routan Baby. It has a certain Conan O’Brien “If They Mated” quality to it that I find myself strangely drawn to.

I wonder if TJ Oshie reads our blog...


Little TJ Jr.

Little TJ Jr.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink*
    February 4, 2009 12:17 am

    Little T.J. Jr. is the cutest baby ever. That’s the 2031 Hobey Baker award winner you’re looking at. In Second Life, natch.

    Chester will be calling you to praise the wise-ass mischief woven into your strategic digital thinkable.

  2. MelissaHamilton permalink
    February 5, 2009 3:42 pm

    How much do I love that you guys are digging these presentations?!?!?!? I think that’s the 4th or 5th time I’ve had them in and am glad to see it’s catching on!

Leave a Reply

