Skip to content

Admitted Olympaholic

August 22, 2008

Usain Bolt in 17 minutes!

I think I noticed it first on ESPN’s Pardon The Interruption a few years ago, then SportsCenter, and now it’s a mainstay tactic on the Olympic coverage that I’ve been glued to for the last two weeks. Those little graphic prompts that let you know what’s coming up in the programming (a little swoosh on the bottom right corner of your screen during said Olympics coverage). It must be working though, in our short-attention span world, ‘cause it seems to have quickly proliferated. And I have to admit, it is enticing…they’ve always got SOMETHING interesting coming up. What better way to get you to sit through a few more minutes of the marathon.

In fact, I even watched trampoline (that’s right…Olympic Trampoline!) the other night while awaiting beach volleyball with Misty May and Kerry Walsh. OK, I’ll admit it, the trampoline jumping was sleeper entertainment. And my kids loved it…I think they went out in our backyard for a training session the next morning.

Women’s parallel bars in 23 minutes!

It does make me wonder what’s next…

During a business presentation: “Real world case studies in 4 minutes!”

During a movie: “Partial nudity in 11 minutes!” (would’ve loved that when I was 13)

One last thought: Bob Costas, an excellent host, seems to be slowly taking on a “Dick Clarkesque” persona…I don’t think the guy’s aged in the last 20 years. Amazing.

Well, gotta go, men’s 400M in 7 minutes!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink*
    August 22, 2008 11:53 am

    planner huddle in 13 minutes!

  2. Crystal permalink*
    August 23, 2008 11:57 am

    How’d you make paragraphs in your post? I’ve tried HTML, I searched the FAQ’s … apparently making paragraphs is a common problem for many wordpress templates. But your post has paragraphs. I’m jealous. How’d you do it?

  3. SLH permalink
    August 23, 2008 4:32 pm

    This has been a chronic problem in my household in the last two weeks. Insomnia, crabbiness and general mutiny over the multiple rule infractions on the part of the Chinese. As a gymnastaholic, I will say I’m glad it’s over. How can people who are typically not sports fanatics, find it in them to care for 2 solid weeks? I don’t even get it and I’m doing it. I actually found myself watching Bandminton last night. Then caught my husband watching ribbon dancing this morning. Ribbon dancing. And my 3-year-old twins are pretending to be olympic swimmers in the bathtub. Something’s gotta give. I’m starting to think the Olympic Committee waits until the entire world is sleeping and brainwashes us all to be addicts. There’s just no rational explanation for caring about pole vaulting.

  4. Crystal permalink*
    August 25, 2008 11:50 pm

    Nicole posted this on Facebook – a blog post about how NBC blew the online opportunity of the audience. The post and the comments are interesting.

    http://gawker.com/5041220/how-nbc-blew-the-olympics-online

  5. kimtrokey permalink
    August 26, 2008 9:11 pm

    I feel lost without seeing Micheal Phelp’s freakish dolphin body on my TV. House reruns just aren’t giving me that same Olympic rush. I guess I can rest assured that I will soon see my big earred Olympian friend on my cereal box, soda bottle, tennis shoes, bag of chips, and wherever else his multiple golds take him. Whatever it is, I’m buying it. Can we say easy target?

Leave a Reply

